Skip to main content

New OPTN board members elected for 2024

Published on: Friday, March 8, 2024

Members of the national organ donation and transplantation community have elected 24 people to the Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network (OPTN) Board of Directors, including the following officer positions: president, vice president/president-elect, secretary, and immediate past president.

There are 42 voting members on the OPTN Board. All are volunteers and serve terms ranging from one to three years, depending on the office to which they are elected. Their terms are staggered so that approximately half of the members will begin new terms each year. The terms of service for the newly elected members will begin July 1, 2024.

Board officers

Richard Formica, M.D., currently the Vice President/President-Elect, will assume the presidency. He is Director of Transplant Medicine and the Medical Director of Adult Kidney Transplantation at Yale New Haven Hospital.

Lloyd Ratner, M.D., M.P.H., FACS, FICS(Hon), will be the Vice President/President-Elect. He is Professor of Surgery and Director of Renal and Pancreatic Transplantation at Columbia University.

Jennifer Muriett, RN, M.S.N., B.S.N., CPTC, will become the Secretary. She is the Chief Operating Officer at Donor Alliance.

Macey Levan, J.D., Ph.D., will become the Vice President of Patient & Donor Affairs. She is Associate Professor of Surgery and Population Health and Director of the Center and for Surgical and Transplant Applied Research Qualitative Core at NYU Grossman School of Medicine, NYU Langone Health Transplant Institute.

Dianne LaPointe Rudow, ANP-BC, DNP, FAAN, will be the Immediate Past President. She is Director of the Zweig Family Center for Living Donation at the Recanati/Miller Transplantation Institute at Mount Sinai Hospital.

Other newly elected members are as follows:

Region 3 Councillor: J. David Vega, M.D.

Region 5 Councillor: Robert Harland, M.D., FACS

Region 6 Councillor: Catherine Kling, M.D., M.P.H.

Region 9 Councillor: Nancy Metzler

At-Large Patient and Donor Affairs Representatives

Brittany Clayborne, Psy.D

Glen Kelley

Joseph (Joe) Brownlee

Denise Abbey, RN, M.H.A.

At-Large Representatives

Deborah Jo Levine, M.D., FAST, FCCP

Dev M. Desai, M.D., Ph.D, FACS

Patrick Northup, M.D., M.H.S., FAASLD, FACG

Sandra Amaral, M.D., M.H.S.

Gaurav Gupta, M.D.

Sara K. Rasmussen, M.D., Ph.D., FACS, FAAP

Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (AOPO): Dorrie Dils, B.S.N., M.H.A.

Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (AST): Deborah B. Adey, M.D.

Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (ASTS): A. Osama Gaber, M.D.

Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (CAP): Caroline R. Alquist, M.D., Ph.D.

Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (NATCO): Jennifer Reese, RN, M.S.N., ANP-BC, CCTC

*Note: Each member institution with voting privileges may cast one vote. The organization designates one person to serve as a voting representative on its behalf, as well as an alternate if the primary representative is unavailable. People who are individual members are also voting representatives.