Skip to main content

Operations & Safety Committee

The Operations and Safety Committee (OSC) seeks to improve the quality, safety and efficiency of the organ donation and transplantation system. The Committee reviews de-identified transplant and donation-related adverse events and near-misses reported to the OPTN by the transplant community, in order to identify potential improvements and policy revisions that may prevent future such occurrences. Based on input from the community and committee experience, and with collaboration from other committees as needed, the Committee may initiate, develop and recommend projects to the Board of Directors.

chair icon Chair
  • Dr. Alden M Doyle
  • University of Virginia Health Sciences Center
vicechair icon Vice Chair
  • Kimberly T Koontz
  • HonorBridge
liaison icon Liaison
Members Organization Position End Term Date
Nicole Alfred-Toran Scott and White Memorial Hospital At Large 6/30/2026  
Ms. Laurel Avery General Public Region 11 Visiting Board Member 6/30/2024  
Ms. Julie Bergin Kentucky Organ Donor Affiliates Region 11 Representative 6/30/2024  
Dr. Clark A Bonham General Public Region 5 Region 5 Representative 6/30/2024  
Ms. Anja DiCesaro LifeCenter Northwest Region 6 Representative 6/30/2026  
Kaitlyn Fitzgerald LifeGift Organ Donation Center Region 4 Representative 6/30/2026  
Dr. Mony Fraer University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Transplant Programs Region 8 Representative 6/30/2025  
Jami Gleason Midwest Transplant Network At Large 6/30/2024  
Shelley Grant Division of Transplantation, HHS Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2025  
Laura Huckestein OurLegacy Region 3 Representative 6/30/2025  
Sarah Koohmaraie Texas Children's Hospital At Large 6/30/2025  
Ms. Anne M Krueger Versiti Wisconsin, Inc Region 7 Representative 6/30/2025  
Stephanie Little General Public Region 7 At Large 6/30/2024  
Annemarie Lucas University of Michigan Medical Center At Large 6/30/2026  
Arjun U Naik Division of Transplantation, HHS Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2025  
Paige Oberle General Public Region 2 At Large 6/30/2024  
Dr. Snehal R Patel Montefiore Medical Center Region 9 Representative 6/30/2026  
Megan Roberts University of Mississippi Medical Center At Large 6/30/2026  
Dr. Norihisa S Shigemura Temple University Hospital Region 2 Representative 6/30/2025  
Jennifer L Smith Lifeline of Ohio Region 10 Representative 6/30/2025  
Jillian M Wojtowicz New England Organ Bank Region 1 Representative 6/30/2025  

Reports to the board of directors

Looking for something else? Contact us at or (804) 782-4800. We maintain an archive of historical OPTN documents.