

Meeting Summary

OPTN Transplant Administrators Committee
Fiscal Impact Advisory Group
Meeting Summary
April 07, 2025
Conference Call

Introduction

The Fiscal Impact Advisory Group met via teleconference on 04/07/2025 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Monitor Ongoing eGFR Modification Policy Requirement
- 2. Requirements for Communicating Post-Transplant Disease

The following is a summary of the Group's discussions.

1. Monitor Ongoing eGFR Modification Policy Requirement

Decision: The Subcommittee decided to update this FIG analysis from low burden to medium burden for transplant programs.

Summary of discussion:

The original fiscal impact was said to be low burden. The policy liaison for the Minority Affairs Committee stated that retrospective notification was kept in MAC's policy, which some stated in public comment that this would be a heavier burden. Secondly, the liaison stated that policy would require transmit programs to provide a candidate with an outcome notification ten business days after receiving a response from the OPTN regarding outcome.

One member stated that lots of work had already been done at programs to get previous eGFR notification requirements finished, so this updated policy would not require much further burden. Another member stated that operationalization of this policy notice could be hard to implement for larger programs. A member discussed clarifications around new and old listing with eGFR modifications.

Members agreed that the fiscal analysis should be updated from low burden to medium burden for transplant programs because of its continued administrative lift.

2. Requirements for Communicating Post-Transplant Disease

Decision: The Subcommittee did not make any decisions.

Summary of discussion:

A representative from the Disease Transmission Advisory Committee stated that DTAC had updated their definition of sick lung patients. Members discussed the proposal and stated that they believe their previous analysis of low burden is still correct.

Upcoming Meeting

• TBD

Attendance

- Subcommittee Members
 - o Theresa Daly
 - o Jason Huff
 - o Arjun Nalik

- o Crystal Usenko
- o Luke Preczewski
- o Chris Wood

UNOS Staff

- o Jamie Panko
- o Kristina Hogan
- o Cole Fox
- o Houlder Hudgins
- o Kelley Poff
- o Tamika Watkins