

Meeting Summary

OPTN Executive Committee Meeting Summary July 16, 2024 Webex

Richard Formica, MD, Chair

Introduction

The OPTN Executive Committee met via Webex teleconference on 07/16/2024 to discuss the following agenda item:

- 1. Welcome
- OPTN Comment on CMS Increasing Organ Transplant Access (IOTA) Model*

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussion.

1. Welcome

Richard Formica, Chair of the Executive Committee, welcomed the committee to their meeting and presented that the purpose of the meeting was for the committee to take action on the OPTN Comment on CMS Increasing Organ Transplant Access (IOTA) Model.

2. OPTN Comment on CMS Increasing Organ Transplant Access (IOTA) Model*

Dr. Formica shared that the committee had voted for the comment via email. It was explained that a member of the committee had feedback about the model, and the committee was convened to determine a path forward for the OPTN's comment. A member of the committee shared that it is important for the OPTN to comment on the CMS IOTA Model for continued collaboration between CMS and the OPTN.

The committee reviewed the draft comment and added more information to the comment. The committee discussed and decided to note concern on the potential misalignment between OPO and transplant program performance metrics, which could potentially underminine the success of the model.

The committee also discussed their concern with the model not including information on risk adjustment and the potential impact this could have on programs of all sizes. The committee discussed whether the risk adjustment included in the model is the same risk adjustment currently being used by the SRTR. The committee also discussed the opportunity for members to comment independently as an individual on the model if they wished to do so.

Vote:

The committee unanimously approved the following resolution:

RESOLVED, that the OPTN Comment on CMS Increasing Organ Transplant Access (IOTA) Model, as discussed during the July 16 call, is hereby approved to be submitted as official public comment to the Federal Register.

Upcoming Meetings:

- July 30, 2024
- August 29, 2024
- September 26, 2024
- October 24, 2024
- November 14, 2024
- December 12, 2024

Attendance

• Committee Members

- o Andrea Tietjen
- o Dianne LaPointe Rudow
- o Emily Blumberg
- o Erika Demars
- o George Surratt
- o Jen Lau
- o Jennifer Muriett
- o Lloyd Ratner
- o Macey Levan
- o Richard Formica

• HRSA Representatives

- o Adrienne Goodrich-Doctor
- o Christopher McLaughlin
- o Frank Holloman

UNOS Staff

- o Alicia Hennie
- o Emy Trende
- o Maureen McBride
- o Morgan Jupe
- o Susie Sprinson